First woodcut

by splitfountain1991

For the last couple of weeks I have been volunteering at Spudnik Press(Chicago) which has been a good look at how a print shop outside of school setting functions. I assisted Spudnik staff with they’re booth at the Milwaukee Art Festival here in Chicago as well as helping around the shop. I watched professional artist who depend on shops like Spudnik to have a place to collaborate with other artist and produce their artwork. They asked me to design and carve a woodblock for a T-shirt they will be selling this september at the Renegade Craft. I had never made a woodblock print or any other type of relief print for that matter, but i took this opportunity to learn something new. I was weary at first but as i became more comfortable with the carving tools i freehanded a majority of the block. We haven’t printed any of the shirts yet but here is a picture of the block. I hope they are able to sell a bunch these !

